Lemon Verbena

 

My lemon verbena grows without direction or supervision. I do not weed, water or pay any attention to the plant until I want to use a sprig or two. 

I have been known to throw some into ice tea for a hint of citrus, or chop a few leaves and sprinkle on top of lightly seasoned pasta to accompany a seafood dish. Sometimes a vase with a few stems sit on my kitchen counter. The arrangement stays fresh and actually thrives with just a little water. Currently, I am enjoying a small vase that has been indoors for going on three weeks and it looks nice even though I have snitched a few leaves for cooking once or twice.

Mention an herb and people come out of the woodwork to fill you in on the medicinal properties of the wonder plant. You will be told about Great Aunt Sallie and her arthritic  knees or dear, late Cousin Edgar who lived well into his eighties by consuming said herb daily to fight off migraine headaches that had plagued him for years.

In my posts, I try to research some of the uses for the herbs that I grow in an effort to not only pass on useful information but to give my stories a little depth. I learn things in this process, and hope that you enjoy the information. While looking up lemon verbena, I came across WebMD,

Lemon verbena is a plant. The leaves and the flowering tops are used to make medicine.

Lemon verbena is used for digestive disorders including indigestion, gas, colic, diarrhea, and constipation. It is also used for agitation, joint pain, trouble sleeping (insomnia), asthma, colds, fever, hemorrhoids, varicose veins, skin conditions, and chills.

I am beginning to think that most herbs have the same list. It all seems very familiar as I read through, until I scanned the second page of the website,

Insufficient Evidence for:

More evidence is needed to rate the effectiveness of lemon verbena for these uses.

Well, I guess that makes it about as clear as mud. What is good for one goose doesn’t make it good for any ganders. Take it all with a gain of salt. Consult your physician before starting any regimen. Use at your own risk.

 

Leave a Reply

