After the Corn Harvest

Early in the spring, I had mentioned that my potato digger from last year (me) had done a poor job of getting all the potatoes out of the garden. Many plants were coming up in and around the corn rows.

Because the potatoes are fingerlings and were absolutely delicious last fall, AND I was being lazy; I did not weed out the volunteers that were growing in the corn.

This week, after harvesting the end of the corn, I can now see all the volunteer potato plants that are left after we have been eating the hills that were growing around the edges of the rows.

The plants are very tall, leggy and rather straggly from being smushed in with corn. That sure hasn’t diminished the harvest of great potatoes, but  it won’t be the bumper crop that I had last year.

Leave a Reply

