Too Nice Outside to Bake

I salvaged the last of the zucchini from the garden to use for my traditional zucchini bread. But the weather is not cooperating. Since the frosts have killed the plants, the squash is no longer growing and would rot if left to sit in the warm days of our Indian Summer.

I brought the squash into the house and grated it all up. Instead of spending the rest of the day baking, I measured the zucchini into ziplock bags and plopped them into the freezer.

The next really ugly weather day, I’ll pull the bags out of the freezer, let them thaw for about an hour while I mix up several batches of the bread/cake dough and add it before baking.

I know it’s cheating, but the weather is just too nice to spend it inside.

Leave a Reply

