Close Call

 

Well, this is the front of my car. It could have been much worse, but it still pains me to know that I caused my well-used transportation a boo-boo.

It was dark as I was traveling home from a meeting in the valley, a deer decided that I was going to be in her way and jumped right in front of me. I hit the brakes, but still ran into her. Luckily for her, she was knocked down and shaken, but not too severely. It did not appear that any bones were broken as she jumped up and ran into the woods.

It is nearing the end of deer hunting season around here, and the natives are restless.  They have been chased around the woods for several weeks now, with people in bright orange vests carrying boom sticks, they are skittery to say the least. It doesn’t help that the rut is just beginning. Now the boys are chasing the girls all over the woods.

Luckily for my car, I did not break any lights or hit the deer hard enough for her to roll up through the windshield. I did, however, break my bug deflector and she put a butt-sized dent in the hood.

More than a decade ago, I had an interaction with an elk while I was driving a car. It was not this car, I’m talking several generations of cars ago. An elk was crossing the road and decided to stop walking. I slammed on the breaks and screeched to a halt. I stopped just a couple of inches from his backside. When he decided to kick up his heels and take out of there, he hoofed my front corner panel just above the bumper and dented it pretty good.  It took me years to not take the affront personally, that was just not the thank you that I was looking for by not mowing the sucker down.

With the holidays coming up, repairs to my car just moved to the top of my wish list.

 

Leave a Reply

