Itching for Dirty Fingernails

While many are still celebrating the New Year, I am dreaming about warmer weather and getting my hands into the garden soil.

I was able to contain myself for only a couple of weeks before I started pulling out seedling trays. Starting with lettuce seeds, I planted three varieties of lettuce greens.

lettuce seedlings that have just broken the surface in the seedling tray.

The seeds have now sprouted and are sitting in front of a large window in the garage until they are big enough to be transplanted into my cold frame.

By the first of March, if the weather cooperates, I should be able to start harvesting the leaves along with fresh green onion tops from the seeds I had planted in the fall. The green chard that was wintered over in the garden should be growing by then also to add to the salads.

Leave a Reply

