Making the Most of the Garden

First red potatoes of the season.I could not wait for the first potato plant to die before digging in for some baby red potatoes. This was the haul from one tire that surrounds and separates my potato hills.

Some of the potatoes are not so baby, I was surprised by just how much growth there was under a plant that was still trying to produce the underground tubers.

I had just harvested a head of broccoli that weighed about a pound and a half. Since it all headed out at the same time, I needed to come up with a meal that would use up the proliferation. This is where the garden and my freezer come in handy.

A crockpot full of beef, broccoli and mushrooms from the farm.

Large Crockpot Beef Broccoli

Overnight slow cook the toughest cut roast you can find in 1/2 c. soy sauce and 1 cup pulped Yellow Transparent Apple, garlic, onion.

Around noon, remove roast from crockpot and chop into bite size chunks

Reserve a cup of the meat juice from the pot and return chunked roast to crockpot still on low

! 1/2 hours before dinner, raid the garden

I added chopped potatoes, summer squash, kale, tomatoes, the whole pound and a half of broccoli and the handful of Chanterelle Mushrooms that I had left from my walk in the woods.

I mixed the reserved meat juice with 3 Tablespoons of Corn Starch for thickening, a splash of rice vinegar and added it to the crockpot.

Dinner was ready right on time, and my day was not spent in the kitchen.

 

 

Leave a comment